Live Shot Buddy

Support

Privacy Policy is located here.

If you are starting this application by creating brand new data, then it is a good idea to gather these elements ahead of time to make setup easier:

Instructions

This is a guide on navigating through LiveShotBuddy and how to use its features.

Signing Up

When you first start the app, you will begin at the sign up screen. Use your email address as a user name and enter a password six characters long to create an account.

After creating your Live Shot Buddy Account, you will advance to a screen where you need to enter your first and last name. This is used to identify you in geolocation reports and data sharing. The button below the name text fields allows you to select a station package that will be assigned to your account.

Clicking on 'Select Station' will reveal a list of uploaded data to choose from. Either choose to 'Fresh Start' or select the station data package that you want to import for use. If you select 'Fresh Start', you will be prompted to enter a station name that will be linked to your new data.

Selecting a station from the list will prompt you to enter the passcode assigned to the data. Entering the correct passcode, you can click 'Submit' and you are ready to use the app. This information can be changed in the settings menu at any time later.

 

Adding/Editing Live Units

Live units are one of the fundamental pieces of data this app requires to use any features. Live units dictate which features are accessed according to the type of unit. This app categorizes two specific type of live units; microwave and portable. A microwave unit is capable of transmitting a microwave signal to a receive tower. A portable unit is a unit that uses cellular technology to transmit data to the station.

From the main screen, select the settings icon in the lower right portion of the screen.

 

In the settings menu, select the "Edit Live Units" button. This will take you to the list of live units screen.

 

The live unit list screen will show all of the live units stored. To add a unit, touch the plus sign on the upper left corner. Select the unit in the list to edit its information. You can also left swipe the unit to delete it. Touching "Done" in the upper right corner will exit this screen and go back to the settings menu.

 

The live unit edit screen allows you to designate a name for each unit. The type of device must also be selected by using the radial buttons below.

If the has microwave transmission capabilities, then select "Microwave." Otherwise use "Portable." This will determine what features can be accessed while the user has a live unit selected. This will also affect how the geolocational information is reported.

 

 

To save changes, touch "Save" in the upper right corner. This will return you to the list of live units with your saved changes. Select "Cancel" to ignore any changes and return to the live unit list.

 

Adding/Editing Microwave Sites

Microwave site data is used as a reference for the user to get direction and distance information to adjust their antenna to establish a signal. It is extremely important that the information entered for each site is as accurate as possible in order for this application to work properly.

Gather your site information in advance in order to efficiently enter the data. You will need the site name and corresponding address or location coordinates in decimal notation.

From the main screen, select the settings icon in the lower right portion of the screen.

 

In the settings menu, select the "Edit Microwave Sites" button. This will take you to the list of microwave sites screen.

 

The microwave site list screen shows all of the sites stored in your device. To add a site, touch the plus sign on the upper left corner. Select the site in the list to edit its information. You can also left swipe the site to delete it. Touching "Done" in the upper right corner will exit this screen and go back to the settings menu.

 

The microwave site edit screen allows you to designate a name, picture and coordinates for each site location. Enter the name of the site in the upper text box. You can use any character EXCEPT periods (.) or dollar signs ($).

The microwave site needs latitude and longitude values for proper app operation. You can either enter the coordinates in decimal value in the corresponding text boxes, or touch the "Use Map for Coordinates" button to view a map for coordinate selection.

At the bottom, you must select an image to represent your site on the main screen. Touch the button to go to the icon selection screen.

To save changes, touch "Save" in the upper right corner. This will return you to the list of microwave sites with your saved changes. Select "Cancel" to ignore any changes and return to the microwave site list.

 

 

Publishing Station Data

This application is designed for one person in each station to do all of the setup work so that data can then be copied to other users who work within the same shop.

Once all of the data has been completed to satisfaction. Go into your "Settings Menu" and select "Update Account."

From there flip the switch that says "Publish Data." You will be prompted to enter a passcode to secure your data. Use a word or something that everyone who will access your data should easily know. Examples could be: a local bar, street name, phone number or a nickname of someone. This isn't meant to be tightly secure. It will only keep random people from accessing your data."

 

 

Adding an ENG Phone Number

This application allows you to simply press one button to call your station to tune in your live shot. To use this feature a phone number must be entered into the app. This of course is the phone number used to call in to tune in the shot.

To do this, go into the "Settings" menu and select "Update Account".

Enter the phone number in the text box labeled "Phone Number". You can also change the name of the department that tunes in the live shots. Each station has a different name, so you can customize that here as well.

Once you have made your changes, press the "Save" button in the upper right corner and you are all set.